Holy Cross Chamber Players Concert

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
7:30 PM - 8:30 PM (ET)
Brooks Music Center CONCERT HA
Event Type
Alice Resker
Music Department

The Holy Cross Chamber Players, (Carol Lieberman, Violin, Marcus Thompson, Viola, Jan Müller-Szeraws, Cello and Randall Hodgkinson, Piano) will present a concert in Brooks Concert Hall featuring the Mozart Piano Quartet in E-flat Major and Beethoven’s “Archduke” Piano Trio opus 97, these performers will again collaborate to perform an exciting program by two of the most renowned chamber music composers. Mozart was one of the first composers to explore this new experimental genre and was commissioned in 1785 to write three piano quartets by the publisher (composer and flautist) Franz Anton Hoffmeister. It is composed as a “concertante” for keyboard with a pure chamber music style. Beethoven premiered his “Archduke” Trio in 1814 as the pianist. Dedicated to his benefactor, student and friend Archduke Rudolf of Vienna, it the last trio composed by Beethoven and also his last public performance. The piano was out of tune, and because of his increasing deafness, Beethoven played the forte passages so loud that the strings of the piano jangled, and the pianos so soft that the audience could barely hear them. Written in four movements rather than the usual three, this work is more like a symphony for three instruments.

Open to the Public
Categories: Music, Featured, Featured Student, Featured Employee

Get Directions
Event Date
Event Time